The Peacock Scarf Revisited

I am currently making our Peacock Scarf in a completely different yarn than the original I made years ago. I absolutely adore it so far! What do you think? I am using a DK weight bamboo. It totally confirms for me the idea that this scarf  is truly beautiful when knit from any number of yarns. This pattern has been more popular on the internet than I had ever imagined when I first put it out there for free! While looking through the comments, I noticed that some people were confused by the third row. There are a series of P3tog (purl 3 toether) decreases, that many were worried would shrink the scarf in width. All of these decreases have a YO (yarn over) that precedes and follows them. Therefore you are decreasing2 stitches with the P3 tog and than adding them back with the yarn overs. To help any of you who are confused, we have made two short You Tube video that are below. Whether you are making this scarf or not, they will help you anytime you are doing a Yarn Over(YO).  I cannot wait to finish this scarf!

6 thoughts on “The Peacock Scarf Revisited

  1. Such a nice pattern! I just finished the scarf, and it is really pretty. I am wondering if anyone has made a sweater using this pattern?

  2. Love this pattern! I was looking for something to make to donate for an auction for friends who are raising money to adopt a child. This will be perfect. 🙂

  3. THANK YOU ! Have had angina over YO pattern I have. This scarf caught my attention and your video explaining YOs was helpful for Peacock Scarf Revisited AND the scarf I am having trouble with!! Wonderful explanation – so clear – and the video was perfectly positioned to allow visual!
    Thanks!!

Leave a comment