My Sewing Room & Favorites

Sewing Room

I am a little obsessed with being a bit of a voyeur into others sewing rooms and creative spaces. There is a lot of inspiration and its so interesting to see how unique everyone’s space is, whether its a room, a whole floor of your house, or even a corner in a bedroom. So I decided to start a regular feature on our blog. It will be a peek into a stitcher’s space, plus some tips and favorite must haves. I will be the guinea pig and share my space, but next time, we would like to share yours! Please Email us with “Where I Sew” in the title, so that we can feature you! Just send us a few pics, and a few of your favorite things or must haves, we will pick someone every few weeks, and if you are featured we will send you some of our favorite goodies to thank you!

I am Erin, one of the Piper’s Girls and this is my sewing room. I recently moved and in my new house, I have a space that I just love! It has wonderful light, its much larger than my old room and has become my own private “happy place”. Here’s a few pics and some of my favorite things that make creating so enjoyable for me.

sewing room

sewing room3

For me, there are two things I have in my room that improve quilting the most for me. The first is having a great sewing machine table that has an insert so that I can sew with my machine flush with the table. The second is having a design wall, for me it is so much better than laying pieces out on the floor. It was such a luxury when I first put one up. I made my own, by wrapping and stapling batting around a giant art canvas, but you could also attach the batting directly to the wall. You quilt blocks stick perfectly to batting!

design wall

I have finally gotten pretty organized with all my tools, collections, stash and so on. Here are a few of my favorite ways to keep my mess at bay and keep things neat and tidy.

scraps

I make a lot with scraps! My stash is really pretty small for how much I sew, but I have tons of scrap. I keep my scrap organized by color, in giant clear zip lock baggies, that are in these drawers from Ikea by color.

jpg”>b6

b9

Another favorite item, from Ikea! This rolling cart keeps my WIP’s neat and tidy and out of sight. I liked them so much, I saved up for 3, and totally want another.

b1

I still need to wind, most of my floss, but hey its a start.

b3

You can’t have too many pin cushions, right? The little fine clover pins sticking in these are so fab, if you haven’t tried them, you must! It is a little scary how excited a pin can make me, apparently I need to get our more.

To cap it off, my most favorite new item is our own Piper’s Girls invention! Our magnetic floral scissor holder. I always wear it around my neck when I am sewing and I always know right where my snips are when I need them, and as a bonus it looks cute! Thanks for visiting, I hope you will share your spaces with us in the future!

b2

3 thoughts on “My Sewing Room & Favorites

  1. So, how many sets of drawers do you have for your fabric? They look like a great idea but I noticed that they aren’t very tall (27″). Just wondering.
    Your sewing room is very nice. The design wall is something I wish I had room for. I use the guest bed or the floor.
    I’m looking forward to seeing other sewing rooms. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

