Four At A Time Half Square Triangles!

Baby Chevron

I just finished this Baby Chevron Quilt.I had so much fun making it and actually it is the 2nd chevron quilt I have made in the last few weeks, the other one is a bit larger and it is not quilted yet.

One of the reasons I had such a blast making these is I tried out a new way of making half square triangles. This method makes them four at a time!! I have made a lot of half square triangles in my day, and have used a million different methods. I am loving this new method! With that said, I love it for larger sizes, and still prefer Thangles for smaller sizes. Anytime I am making a 4″ or smaller I  will stick with the Thangles, but anything larger and this is my new favorite method. Give it a try and see what you think!

P.S. If you want to purchase patterns or kits for this quilt, click here: Baby Chevron

squares

First you will need to cut your squares, you will need one each of the two fabrics that you would like to make up your half square triangle.  For mine, I used a cream and a yellow polka dot.  I started out with 8″ squares, that will yield (4) 5″ ish half square triangles. Since I am using all half square triangles in my quilt, I don’t mind if they are not exactly 5″. If you need an exact size, or another size, here is the math for this method:

Half Square Triangle Size divided by 0.64= the square size you will need to start with

4 at a time

Place your 2 squares right sides together and pin. Using a 1/4″ seam, stitch around all four sides.

stitching

cutting

Now cut the square in half on the diagonal in both both directions.

triangles

It will look like this. Now you just need to press them open! Make sure you are pressing, not ironing! You are on bias and if you iron back and forth instead of up and down pressing, you will get stretch and distortion.

done

TA DA! Wasn’t that crazy easy and crazy fast!!! I a made a chevron, but you can do pinwheels or a million other blocks with these half square triangles. What do you think!?

babychevron

13 thoughts on “Four At A Time Half Square Triangles!

  1. Freaking cow! I will now go home and make half square triangles. I’m sure I’ll come up with a project for them at some time!

  2. I saw this on a quilt tutorial by Missouri Star Quilt Co. By way of 3 Dudes Quilting. They had done it with Jelly Roll strips sewn and then cut into squares, turned at right angles, cut as you did and then opened and turned at right angles again. It was really fun. I made mine into a large tote bag.

  3. Pingback: Sneek Peek : E is for Elephant | The Piper's Girls

  4. I just came across this and love the style! This may be a silly question, but is this a crib size quilt? Or is it just a smaller quilt?

  5. Pingback: Pattern Reviews: Camille Roskelly Round & Round and Vintage Holiday | Danette Quilts

  6. Love the quilt! This is an easy way to get half-square triangles. But I must mention that the block edges will be on the bias, and not on the straight of grain, so be careful when sewing so that your blocks won’t stretch.

  7. I am new to quilting and would love to make this. Any idea how much yardage I would need for a queen size quilt if I do 8 or 10″ blocks? Also, in your color choices, would I need twice as much white as the grey and yellow?

    • I have not made one that size yet, but it should be very easy to figure out. I would guess that you need about 1 1/2 yards of each of the 2 colors you use and about 3 yards of the white. Great beginner project!

Leave a Reply

