Quick Tips & Tools: Organizing Scraps

I love scraps. I make a lot of quilts with almost all scrap, and in my applique quilts, scraps can go a long way. I am pretty streamline in what I like to keep around in the majority of my life, but when it comes to scraps I am a hoarder. Jeanette taught me that every little piece of fabric is very valuable and so I must save them all. I am sure most of you feel the same way. But in order to use your scraps efficiently, you need to be able to retrieve them easily and keep them stored in an organized fashion that allows you to do this. I am constantly working on this part. So as part of my spring cleaning I have torn apart my work room and am re-tackling my scraps. So far I am really pleased with the solution I have come up with so I thought I would share it with you.

Before I had my scraps in a bunch of clear stackable boxes as shown above, but I just threw them in as I got them and they were not organized by color. I liked to be able to see them, but they looked pretty messy stacked up in my closet.

Now they are neatly tucked away and labeled by color in these clean white drawers! Here’s what I did.

First I separated all of my scraps by color in piles. This part was the biggest pain, it took some time, but luckily I had a lot of Modern Family episodes to catch up on while I sorted.

Then I put each color in its own (some colors required 2) clear plastic bag. The bags I used are about 14″ X 16″, but anything close to that will work. I used 2 Ikea Helmer organizers both in white   ( you may be able to get away with 1, depending on how many colors you have) and stacked them on top of each other, than gave each color a drawer.

Now anytime I need a color, I can just pull out the whole bag, rifle through it and put it back. I love it! What do you think? I think I may have finally found my permanent scrap solution!

Now that my scraps are done, I can move on the the rest of the mess. I will let you know when it is all pretty and perfect.